How to Sign a Progress Note
After creating and saving and saving certain types of progress notes, providers have the option to lock and sign the note. Once a note is locked and signed, the note is time-stamped with the provider’s electronic signature and can no longer be modified. The following types of notes can be locked and signed:
- Session Note
- Supervision Note
- Treatment Summary
Step 1: Save the progress note
After creating the progress note, press Save. The content of the note can be edited at any time by pressing the Edit button.
After saving, you will see that the note has an unlocked icon indicating that it has been saved but not yet locked and signed.
Step 2: Lock and sign
After saving the note, the Lock and Sign button will appear. Pressing Lock and Sign will mark the bottom of the note with the provider's signature and the date and time that the note was locked and signed.
Step 3: Modifying a signed note
Once a note has been locked and signed, the note can no longer be edited or modified. You will see that the Edit button is no longer available and the bottom of the note indicates the date and time the note was locked and signed.
Step 4: Deleting a signed note
While modifications are no longer permitted after a note has been locked and signed, the note can still be deleted by pressing Delete. However, if a note is deleted after being locked and signed, a record of the deletion will be retained and displayed on the patient’s note summary view.
Note: The record of the note is not retained if the note is deleted after being saved (but before being locked and signed).